Home > A conference on 21 November, 2020, online and at Brisbane

A conference on 21 November, 2020, online and at Brisbane

 

A conference is taking place with an option to view online.

The papers will honour Captain Cook’s Endeavour voyage along the coast of the Chepara People.

There are twelve papers with intriguing titles.

It is being held in Brisbane, QLD, Australia, starting on 21 November.

The organiser is The Royal Historical Society of Queensland.

Booking is essential.  The costs, payment method and full programme can be found at https://queenslandhistory.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/Cook-250-flyer.pdf

The completed registration form can be sent to the organisers by post, or can be emailed.

 

Times are as follows:
Brisbane: 9 am to 4 pm
Sydney: 10 am to 5 pm
Auckland: 12 noon to 7 pm
Vancouver: 3 pm to 10 pm
New York: 6 pm to 1 am
London: 11 pm to 6 am
Paris: 12 midnight to 7 am

 

Those attending by live stream will receive a link where they can watch the conference.

 

Papers and presenters are:

The Numismatics of Captain Cook – An Enduring Archive by Dr Phil Benjamin
The Music and Dance of HMB Endeavour by Dr Heather Clarke
Cook’s Endeavour and the Replica by Captain John Dikkenberg
The Priceless Value of Marginalia in Hawksworth’s Quarto Volumes by Simon Farley
Cook’s Material Heritage by Richard Ferguson
The Endeavour’s Botanical Legacy by Dr Gordon Guymer AM
Cook’s Secret Instructions by Michael Halliday
Cook and the Pacific by Dr Susannah Helman
The Search for HMB Endeavour’s Final Resting Place by Dr James Hunter
Parkinson’s Notebooks by Dr Ruth Kerr OAM
The Endeavour Build by John Longley AM CitWA
The Publication of Hawksworth’s Edition of Cook’s Journal by James McCourt
The Transit of Venus by Professor John Pearn
Cook's First Memorial in Queensland by Chris Price
Cook’s Queensland Toponymy by Mr Stephen Sheaffe AM
Cook’s 1770 Voyage off Australia – Operational and Navigational Hazards by Dr Michael White

The website for the event is https://queenslandhistory.org/events/ngalda-ngadja-annual-conference/

The website for the organiser is https://queenslandhistory.org
 

Sort by:
profile photo
My wife and I sailed among the many islands and countries visited by the good Captain.
By John F. Williams, Jr. on 11/21/2020 1:56:45 AM Like:0 DisLike:0

Unsolicited e-mail warning

It has come to our attention that spam mailers (senders of bulk unsolicited e-mail) have been forging their mail with this domain as the point of origin. As a matter of policy, we do not send out e-mail from our domain name. If you have received an email that appears to be from "@CaptainCookSociety.com" it was forged and sent without our consent, knowledge, or the use of our servers.